Wrapping up the blogging experience

Post-Racial America

The colorblind/post-racial theory. It’s a complex topic I first heard about in my Sociology class at Laney College in Oakland, Calif. and it perplexed me. Coming from a low-income immigrant household where youth were stereotyped to be gang members and drug dealers, the consequences of racial prejudice seemed very apparent to me. I simply could not understand how some scholars believed firmly in the idea that race no longer mattered in American society.

When I was asked to research a topic that created borders (physical and mental) between members of our society, I dove into the post-racial concept. My curiosity propelled me into my research. It was such an abstract and intriguing theory that seemed so far from reality. I wanted to understand why people believed it was true.

One of the highlights of my blogging experience was conducting an interview with Sociology professor Cynthia Mahabir. It was an interesting…

View original post 481 more words

Leave a Reply

